Because Louisiana is HOME

Because Louisiana is Home   

Written by: Skye Roth Turner

This is in response to all of the negative and in my book, asinine comments from people about why don’t people from Louisiana and the Gulf Coast “just move” as we keep having natural disasters I’ve been seeing on various media outlet’s (from around the country) pages. (This article was posted by me on WWLTV (Facebook) and CNN (Facebook)
I am almost 33 years old and was born and raised in Louisiana. I have traveled the world and as beautiful as the rest of the world is, I have seen no place more beautiful than Louisiana. Louisiana is not just where I live, it’s HOME. It’s where I chose to make my life upon becoming an adult. It’s where I chose to raise my children.
No matter where you live, there are bad things happening. Natural disasters, terrorist attacks, crime,etc. If people chose to leave because of what they cannot control, well in my book that’s just ridiculous.
Every 5-8 years, we have a hurricane, yes. And sometimes they are catastrophic, but should we all just abandon our homes and the people and places we love to try to “avoid” Mother Nature’s wrath? I say no.
Here in Louisiana (the Gulf Coast), 7 years ago we were slammed by Hurricane Katrina and more recently, on the 7 year anniversary of Katrina, we were hit by Hurricane Issac. Both of these storms were horrible and a lesser people would in fact choose to leave; but here in the Gulf Coast, we’re made of strong stuff. You knock us down, we come back not just swinging, but stronger and better than before. (There’s a reason our state is shaped like a boot!)
Some of the most amazing scenery in the world, can be found right here, in our backyards. Some of the most amazing music also comes from right here.
The film industry is now ingrained in Louisiana and the South. On any given day, you can walk through Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Shreveport, and many of our other cities and small towns and see a celebrity just hanging out in their downtime from filming a movie or television show.
We have our share of hardships, but one of the things I love the most about us is we’re a different breed of people. We are all strangers, but when something happens, like a hurricane, we come together. Strangers become not just friends, but family. We take care of our own. There is no heart bigger than a Southerner’s heart! If someone is in need, then friends, family, or strangers make it happen. It’s what we do.  It’s who we are.
I have yet to meet a person in my travels who will say that they have come to Louisiana who has not fallen completely in love with it. We have so much to offer.
We are a passionate people. We are passionate about our families, our culture, our music , our football, our history, and our food! We are a proud and diverse group and we love where we live and have no plans to go anywhere!

**Also note, that amazing image of Louisiana is not my artwork.

10 thoughts on “Because Louisiana is HOME

  1. Well, here we are years later and it is still a well written passionate article. My father’s family is from New Orleans, he was actually born in Ponchatoula. I moved outside Baton Rouge when he retired. I was 14. I have lived many places. South Louisiana is still a VERY special and unique place to come home to.

Leave a Reply

