Ribbon Hair Ties, I Can Do That

We’ve all seen the cute little elastic ribbon hair ties in boutiques and stores and in practically everyone’s hair lately. Everyone is wearing them and at $2 to $4 a pop or 4 for $15, they’re cute but pricey.  Especially when you must have one in every color to match your wardrobe.  That adds up really fast.
My 4 year old daughter has friends who wear them at school and has been telling me she “NEEDS” some.
Knowing my daughter and knowing what a fashionista and a diva she is, I knew that would be very expensive, so I thought, I can do that!

STEP ONE: FIND MATERIAL

First step, scour the Internet to find the elastic in fashionable colors at a reasonable price.  I ended up finding this lovely website, Abby’s Bowtique, with the elastic for $1.00 a yard and loads of colors.
(My elastic was here in 2 days)

I recently went from this to this, so I can’t really use the cute ties right now:

STEP TWO: LAY OUT ALL YOUR MATERIALS

You should need your elastic, a lighter (to keep your edges from fraying), sharp scissors, and your hands.

Obviously the thicker your hair is, the longer you will want your elastic to be.  I used about 7 inches.  That’s a little longer than a pair of standard scissors.  (But my daughter is 4 and has fine hair.)

Cut the length you want and run the flame lightly over the edges of the elastic where you’ve cut it to stop it from fraying.  I like uneven edges, so I cut on an angle. I also think it’s prettier.

Then just tie a knot in the elastic leaving a little out on the ends to fan out once you wrap your ponytail. It makes a bow effect.

It takes about a minute to make one. And in 10 minutes, you can have an entire supply for yourself, your little diva, or gift giving.

ENJOY!

FINAL RESULT

10 thoughts on “Ribbon Hair Ties, I Can Do That

  1. I love this!!!! These are very popular down South and are 4.00 each!!! We have 2.
    I’m going to order some now! Thanks a bunch<3

Leave a Reply

