LSU Football and Pastalaya… A Winning Combination.

It’s that time of year again. FOOTBALL SEASON! And here in the South, that’s serious business.

It means good food, good fun, social gatherings, drinking, and a good time!

Saturday was the opening game of LSU’s Season. For those not from here, Tiger football is no joke. People take thier football seriously. We plan get togethers either at the games, in bars and restaurants, or in our homes. We cook huge meals and it’s the best time around.

WHAT’S FOR DINNER?

I decided I wanted a Pastalaya (Jambalaya with pasta instead of rice) for the game. And as I’ve never before in my life cooked a jambalaya from scratch (this is my husband’s forte), much less a pastalaya, I needed help.

WHEREVER WILL I FIND A RECIPE?

Where to turn? My friends on Facebook of course.

FACEBOOK TO THE RESCUE

Within minutes of posting, my friend Bonnie had inboxed me a pastalaya recipe. After looking it over, I thought, “I can do this. Seems easy and I just need to go to the store to grab the meat.”

So I did.

LET’S DO THIS

About 2 hours before game time, I got to cooking.

Here is the recipe that my friend Bonnie sent to me:

PASTALAYA

Ingredients

1-1/2 Lbs. – Boneless Skinless Chicken Thigh Meat – Chopped

1-1/2 Lbs. – Manda (or your favorite) smoked Pork Sausage – Sliced

1-1/2 Lbs. – Boneless Boston Butt Pork – Cubed

1-1/2 Lbs. Onions – Chopped

4 – Stalks of Celery – Chopped

2 – Small Bell Peppers (Green, Red, Or Yellow) – Chopped

1 – Bunch Of Green Onions (Shallots) – Chopped

1/2 Cup – Parsley Flakes

1 – Tablespoons of Sweet Basil

3 – Bay Leaves

3 – Tablespoons of Fresh Garlic – Minced

1 – 14oz. Can Of Delmonte Cajun Recipe Stewed Tomatoes

1 1/2 Lbs. – No.3 Luxury Spaghetti

4 1/2 Cups – Water

Dash of your Favorite Hot Sauce (Crystal or Tobasco)

Dash of Black Pepper

Dash of Cayenne Pepper

Dash of Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning

2 tbls – Garlic Powder

2 tbls – Worcestershire Sauce

2 tbls – A1 Steak Sauce

Brown the chicken sprinkled with Tony’s seasonings then remove from pot. Brown pork first, then boil down with some water till tender (about 30 minutes) and most of the water has reduced. Add sausage to pork and brown for about 10 minutes on medium heat while constantly stirring. Next add onions, bell pepper, celery, Cajun recipe, bay leaves, basil, parsley flakes, fresh garlic, and dash of hot sauce. Let cook down on medium heat while carefully stirring to prevent sticking. Vegetables will make extra water. When cooked thoroughly and vegetables are wilted, add the water (4-1/2 cups) and return chicken to the pot. Next season mixture with pepper, garlic powder, Worcestershire, A1 and Tony’s. Remember that pasta will absorb the seasonings, so make sure the water tastes just a little more salty and peppery than you would like. Next, raise the heat to medium high so water starts boiling. Break pasta in half and sprinkle into mixture. Be careful that pasta does not stick together and clump. When all the pasta has softened and absorbs most of the water, lower heat to medium low and add the green onions. Stir carefully; place lid on pot for 3 minutes. Next lift the lid, stir pot completely then replace the lid. Lower heat to very, very low and cook covered for 15 minutes.

Finally, turn the heat off, do not remove the lid, and let sit for 30 minutes. After this, lift the lid, stir the pot over, and your dish is ready to serve

A FEW MINOR CHANGES

Now my family is not a fan of celery and rather than hearing my husband fuss, I just eliminated it. I also added 2lbs of pasta and 5.5 cups of water. Everything else, I pretty much followed. (I never follow a recipe exactly. I just don’t do it.)

First I chopped all my veggies and my meats. (And quickly realized my onions were super potent. I had tears and mascara running down my face and scared my 4 year old to death. I will soon be purchasing my “Paula Deen Style” onion glasses.)

I AM THE NEWLY CROWNED “PASTALAYA QUEEN” (At least in my house)

Altogether it took me a little over 2 hours, but it was Delicious. My husband ate 2 bowls and he has crowned me the “Pastalaya Queen” of the house.

We will certainly be making it again!

Image

(Of course the purple border is for the LSU Tigers)

Thank you Bonnie for the awesome recipe and it is sticking around here at Chateau de Turner!

A LITTLE LAGNIAPPE

A little pic of my family on Game day! (Ladies in Purple and Gold for the Tigers and fellows in Black and Gold for the Saints. What can I say, we’re a Louisiana football family.)

Image

And for the record, LSU beat the stuffing out of  Washington with a score of 41-3. ;o)

4 thoughts on “LSU Football and Pastalaya… A Winning Combination.

Leave a Reply

