25 Days of Christmas, 25 Acts of Random Kindness Challenge

Things have been insane around my house the past few days. But I had some time this morning after having 2 cups of coffee, getting my daughter off to school, and playing with my son.

I was browsing a few blogs and found a great idea from last year that I will be incorporating into our Christmas traditions this year. My children are 3 and 4 11/12ths  (she’ll be 5 in a month), but I want to teach them that Christmas is not about presents and it’s a time of goodwill and helping others. This year, we’re going to be “RACKing” people. (Random Acts of Christmas Kindness)

This blog tsj Photography had a great post called random acts of christmas kindness.

I will be doing this with my children.

Basically you write or type up 25 ideas of things you can randomly do for other people from December 1-25 and with each one, you leave a little note about what you are doing and see if people can Pay It Forward.  You seal them up and everyday, you pick a new one and do whatever is on that card.

Some ideas I thought of:

~ Buy the coffee of the person behind you in line at the drive through or just in line.

~ Give candy canes to people you meet throughout the day with a “Happy Holidays” and a smile.

~ Buy food to donate to your local Food Bank or the food donation boxes at the grocery store.

~ Take your neighbors trash can in and leave a treat at the backdoor for them. Cookies, candy, a card, etc.

~ Help your teacher clean up and bring them a gift.

~ Make Christmas cards and bring them to the hospital to be handed out to the patients.

~ Adopt a Soldier and send a care package.

~ Let each child pick out a toy and buy it and donate it to Toys for Tots.

~ Make a card and leave it and a treat for the mail lady on a cold day.

~ Donate change to the Salvation Army and give the bell ringers a warm drink.

~ Hold the doors open everywhere you go for people who’s hands are full or who look like they’re having a bad day.

I’m trying to think of things to do that my children can do as well so that they learn that Christmas is about giving and not receiving and helping your fellow man.

*** You can add scripture verses to the cards if you choose.

We send care packages and cards to soldiers every year, but this year I want to do more and I want to teach my children things that they will carry with them forever.

I hope that you think this idea is as amazing as I did and you participate too!

3 thoughts on “25 Days of Christmas, 25 Acts of Random Kindness Challenge

    • You can do it one of 2 ways. You can either hit reblog and if it asks you where you want to reblog, you type in your blog web address, or you can do what I did with yours, copy and paste the entire thing. Then just add a link to here.
      Let me know if you need help!

  1. Pingback: good deeds | fixed on the unseen

Leave a Reply

