Perfect Creamy Pralines (Prejean’s)

I love sugar. I love pecans. I mean I’m from Louisiana and it’s a fact we have the BEST food anywhere in the world. And what’s better than sugar and pecans?

Pralines are a Southern specialty and they are not always east to make. But the best one’s the one’s that make grown men beg and make you want to slap ya momma (not really. It’s a Southern saying meaning delicious.).

I have had trouble making them myself and if they are bad, well they are still good. It’s sugar and pecans!

One of my  FAVORITE restaurant’s of all time,  is a little gem in Lafayette, Louisiana named Prejean’s. It’s pure Cajun and pure heaven. It’s actually one of the things I can count on one hand I miss from Lafayette (I lived there for 5 years).

And Prejean’s has the BEST pralines I’ve ever had! Hands down, Slap Ya Momma, the best!

Well the lovely and generous people at Prejean’s decided they love me enough to share the recipe.  (Well they shared it on their Facebook page, and I just want to think it was for me since I love them so.)

Want to be the favorite person on your block or in your family, make their pralines for your next get together or give them as gifts for the holidays. People will LOVE you and you will instantly be everyone’s favorite.

I’m not kidding, they are just that good.

Sugary sweetness, creamy, and pecans. What is NOT to love?

Isn’t that just about one of the prettiest things you’ve ever seen?

Want the recipe to make your very own?

Here it is:

Prejean’s Sweet Louisiana Pralines
½ cup butter
1 ¾ cups granulated sugar
½ pound light brown sugar
2 cups heavy cream
2 tablespoons vanilla
1 pound pecans

• In a heavy 2-quart saucepan, heat butter until melted. Blend in both sugars. Cook and stir until sugar dissolves.
• Stir in cream until blended. Bring mixture to a rolling boil, stirring continuously. Reduce heat to medium high and stir continuously until mixture becomes foamy and frothy, darkens in color, and reaches soft-crack stage. To test for soft-crack stage, between 270 and 290 degrees on a candy thermometer, drop a small amount onto ice water: the drop should form hard but pliable threads.
• Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla and pecans. Continue to stir for 5 minutes or until mixture begins to stiffen. Spoon individual circles of mixture onto waxed paper. Allow pralines to cool completely before removing from waxed paper.

This recipe makes about sixteen 3-inch round pralines.

Make them and once you do, tell me about how amazing they are!
And if you are EVER in Louisiana, trust me, you want to eat at Prejean’s!
5 thoughts on “Perfect Creamy Pralines (Prejean’s)

  1. Hello. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I found Prejeans while traveling through Louisiana and immediately fell in love (lust, actually) with their pralines. After that, no other praline would do. So, I was thrilled to come across this.

    While making this about a week ago, I ran into some problems I was hoping you might be able to help me with. Everything seemed to be going pretty good until the end, when I added the vanilla. The mixture started to separate/seize and got really thick super quickly. To the point where I could not form or drop spoonfuls onto wax paper. Instead, I pressed it into a pan for a pseudo-fudge, which was tasty, but extremely crumbly when it cooled and I tried to slice it. However, that awesome taste I remembered was there, so I’m hopeful for future attempts.

    For the record – I just let it get up to about 265-268 degrees on the candy thermometer because I was worried about overcooking it.

    Do you think I could add the vanilla along with the cream to avoid this in the future? Any other tips you might have?

    Again, many thanks from California.

    Michelle

    • Your sugar wasn’t fully dissolved if they were brittle.
      Next time, stir constantly and keep a firm eye on the candy thermometer.
      It’s a pain and labor intensive, but well worth it in the end.
      Good luck.

  2. Hi there! I want to makes these as Christmas presents for friends here in England (we don’t have them and I think it’s time to intoduce their creamy awesomeness to the UK) and I was wondering if I could make them in batches and freeze them well in advance?

    Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

  3. Pingback: 21 Tempting Pecan Recipes | The Good Hearted Woman

Leave a Reply

