Peppermint Mocha

I’ve gotten some e-mails after my blog from yesterday asking why I teased about a Peppermint Mocha, but did not share my recipe.

Our oldest munchkin came home from school feeling unwell on Tuesday and since then it’s gotten progressively worse.

Her temperature keeps spiking and we give her Tylenol/Motrin every few hours. Last night she climbed in bed with Mommy and Daddy crying around midnight and neither of us slept well.

I’m on my 3rd cup of coffee today because I feel like I could just nod off.

With that being said, I give you my recipe for Peppermint Mocha (my FAVORITE drink at Starbucks of all time!)

Ingredients:

1 cup hot  or steamed milk (We use 2%)

1 cup strong brewed coffee (Community Dark Roast of course)

1 TB Cocoa powder (Hershey’s)

2 TB fine white sugar or sugar substitute

3 Tsp Peppermint Syrup (I use Torani syrups. And just FYI I detest the Sugarfree one’s. They leave a horrible aftertaste. I would recommend the regular syrups any day! But I’ll add my Peppermint Simple Syrup recipe down below too.)

Optionals: Whipped Cream, Crushed Peppermint candies, and Chocolate Syrup

Directions:

Brew your coffee.

While the coffee is brewing, heat up the milk on the stove or in the microwave. Make sure not to burn it. (Burnt milk smells horrible). Once hot, but not boiling, whisk it with a hand whisk or mixer until nice and foamy. You want lots of bubbles.

Place coffee, sugar, cocoa powder, and peppermint syrup in your coffee cup and mix well, until everything is dissolved and incorporated. Add your steamed milk. Make certain you get all the froth. Stir gently.

If you want to get fancy, top with whipped cream, drizzle some chocolate syrup, and top with crushed peppermints.

***Also, making Peppermint syrup is pretty easy.

3 ingredients:

1 cup Sugar

1 cup water

2 Tsp Peppermint Extract

In a small saucepan (for the stove) or a microwave safe bowl (for the microwave) bring your water and sugar to a boil. Once boiling, immediately drop heat to medium and stir constantly until all your sugar is dissolved. (I recommend the stove top for simple syrups.) Once all the sugar is dissolved, remove from heat and immediately stir in peppermint extract. Allow to cool completely. You can store it in a glass jar for 2-3 months in the refrigerator.

*** Do NOT place hot liquid in the glass jar and immediately refrigerate! Allow to cool completely before refrigerating! Your jar can get stress fractures and bust if it goes from hot to cold too quickly.

(Please note, not my image. Dealing with my sick baby, so I didn’t make my coffee all pretty just now. Image from Google Images.)

2 thoughts on “Peppermint Mocha

Leave a Reply

