Skye’s Fast and Easy Ranch Chicken Salad

As a busy Stay at Home Mommy with a 3 and 5 year old, I rarely want to cook lunch on a weekday.
My 5 year old is now in Pre-K and gone all day, but that leaves me with my 3 year old most days and everyday for lunch.
In between cooking dinner (usually thanks to the Crock Pot), entertaining a 3 year old, and keeping my house in order, I do NOT want to cook anything for lunch.
Good thing my son and I love sandwiches. One day I ran out of turkey and was in the middle of a cleaning spree, therefore going to the store was out of the question.
(I try to avoid it with my kids as often as possible. Alone it takes me about 20-30 minutes, with one kid about an hour and with both, we’re lucky if we done in 1.5 hours.)
I checked my pantry (to be honest, it’s always stocked with essentials and a few extras.)
Canned chicken and tuna. (Since my son is a heart baby, I try to limit his fish intake, just because I’m overprotective and well a Mommy.)

Chicken salad it was!
Checked around to see what else we had on hand and then came up with this deliciousnes.

Ranch Chicken Salad with Walnuts and Raisins

Ingredients:

  • 2 TB lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup Light Sour Cream
  • 3 TB premixed Ranch dressing
  • 1 Tsp sea salt (guesstimating. I have a salt mill and turn it about 4 times.)
  • 1 Tsp fresh black pepper (same as the salt. I guesstimated)
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1 13 oz can of chicken (drained)
  • 1/4 cup raisins (can use dried cherries or fresh grapes cut in half)
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

Combine all ingredients. Mix well, breaking up chicken as you mix. Serve on bread or crisp lettuce.

It tastes great served immediately or leave in the fridge for a few hours to allow flavors to meld together.

Just whipped this up for my son and I for lunch and today it’s served with carrot sticks and plain chips.

I personally love food with different textures and mixing salty and sweet, while still being savory. The walnuts give it a great crunch while the raisins add just a touch of sweetness. Image

As always, if you try it and like it or hate it, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

