Chick Lit and Globs

Who knew my love of reading, my newly formed Book Club (because nothing is more fun than finding out people other than you have your reading tastes and getting FREE books loaned, right), and my love of cooking/baking would all come together?

Some friends of mine with the same eclectic reading tastes as myself recommended a series of light books 2 days ago.
After staying up late, reading in the jacuzzi at night, during nap time during the day, and during Carpool, I am on the 3rd and final book in the series and I’m feeling inspired.

The Series is the Chocolate Lovers Series by Tara Silvec

Book 1 Seduction and Snacks

Book 2 Futures and Frosting

Book 3 Troubles and Treats

Chocolate Lovers Series

These books are vulgar, disgusting, hilarious, steamy, (did I mention hilarious?), not for the faint of heart or people easily offended.

My friends told me I just had to read them and that I would in fact, die laughing.

I was not convinced, but a friend loaned them to me through our Kindles and the hilarity ensued.

It follows a group of 3 girlfriends (who seriously remind me of MY girlfriends) through their early 20’s. Love, sex, name calling, one night stands, soul mates, sex toys, drunken binges, etc.

Books 1 and 2 are laugh out loud hilarious if you have a tolerance for names females do not generally like to be called, man children,  and general crassness. Book 3, while not nearly as good as Books 1 and 2 is still humerous, but by then it’s kind of overplayed.

(And when I say laugh out loud, I really mean it. I would NOT recommend reading this in public. I received more than one startled look as I laughed and snorted.)

There are 3 female main characters and 3 male main characters.

General principal is that the group female friends get into business together and have various “relationships” with the male characters. The business is a Sex Shop/Candy Shop. (I know it seems insane, but hey it works).

This is a surefire lighthearted read and if you enjoy laughing until you cry and are not afraid to let your hair down sometimes, you will enjoy them.

Now onto the next part of this post…

One of the main characters is Claire, the Candy Shop owner.

I see myself as Claire (maybe I’m giving too much away, but I have traits of both Liz and Jenny too.)

She comes up with this crazy concoction in the books and me being me, well I have to try to recreate them. Because anything that involves chocolate cannot be bad, right?

She called them Globs.

I’ll call them A Salty and Sweet Chocolate Party.

Ingredients:

1 package White chocolate OR Vanilla Almond Bark

2/3 cup Crushed plain salted potato chips

1/2 cup Crushed salted pretzels

1/4 cup Butterscotch chips (melted)

1/4 cup Caramel (melted)

Directions:

Melt your chocolate or almond bark. 45 second intervals in the microwave, stirring frequently to prevent burning.

Crush your potato chips and pretzels while you are melting your chocolate or almond bard.

Stir bark, chips, and pretzels together.

Drop by tablespoons onto wax paper.

Once hard (about half an hour), drizzle melted butterscotch and caramel over the top.

Salty and Sweet Party!

OMG, that was a serious party in my mouth.

Be smart though, don’t eat too many. Package some up and give them away to your neighbors!

As always, if you try them or read the books, let me know what you think!

Here’s to Chaos, because anything less is boring!

Leave a Reply

