And we have sun!

Ladies and gentleman, the sun is out today!
Now some of you may not understand the significance of this… but I live in the Deep South. Louisiana to be exact.
One of the great things about living here is that it’s rarely cold.
To us, cold is like 45 degrees. Parkas and snow boots are a fashion statement (albeit one that makes absolutely NO sense, as we live in LOUISIANA), and really usually serve no logical purpose.
But for the past 3 weeks, it’s been COLD (like almost freezing) and wet. It’s rained every single day.
Around the state we’ve had a lot of flooding and a lot of damage from all of this water that has no where to go and no time to drain before even more rain is dumped on us.
BUT the glowing orb in the sky is out today and it’s a beautiful sight!

This means I can bundle up my children and actually let them go outside for a few minutes.
It’s currently 35 degrees, so that will have to wait a bit, but for 3 weeks they’ve been cooped up in the house and Mommy is ready for the looney bin!
Cabin Fever with a 3 and a 5 year old is NOT fun.
For all of you Northerners, I commend you, because I just don’t know how to deal with cold and wet!
This past week has been like Hell for me and I know my kids have had enough too.

We’ve watched more Roku, listened to more Spotify and Pandora, and done more crafts than ever before.

My house looks like a museum for 3-5 year olds. 🙂

But all this being cooped up inside has also given me more time to read and we’ve been cooking a lot more than usual.

Books I’ve recently read that I loved:

Lux Series

The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Book 4 will be out later this year and I am so upset that I have to wait for it!

warm-bodies

Warm Bodies by Issac Marion

I will not lie, I was not overtly excited to read this book. I was thinking, “A zombie love story? Really? This is going to suck!”, but I wanted to see the movie and I have to read the book before seeing any “based on a book movie.”It did not suck. At all.
I actually loved it. The characters were well developed and the plot was great.
Once I started it, I could not put it down.
I hear rumors of a sequel and I am hopeful that this is true.

Hopeless

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

This book…
Ah this book. Hopeless is another Young Adult read.
It is complex, but easy to follow. You find yourself “becoming” Sky (though my name is also Skye) and really feeling what it is she’s feeling.
This is not a lighthearted novel. It is in fact very heavy and covers a broad range of situations that are not suitable for younger readers.
I personally guessed the end before it happened, but I was still not prepared for it.
Ms. Hoover is an amazing writer and had a gift. She possesses the unique quality of covering graphic, deep subjects in a manner that allows you, the reader to transport yourself into them, while still holding back just enough.
I won’t say anymore, but I will say this, READ IT!

the-edge-of-never-ja-redmerski

The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

I started this book and finished it about 12 hours later.
I could not put it down.
It’s heartwarming, heart wrenching, and angsty.
The characters are well developed and easy to relate to. You find yourself comparing yourself to Cam and comparing people from your younger years to Andrew.
This is one of the few books, where I wanted to get to the end to see the conclusion, but at the same time feared the end, because if it ended in any way other than the way I wanted it to, I was going to die a little inside.
If you want a lighthearted read, The Edge of Never is not for you. But if you are interested in a book that you will think about once you are finished and laugh, cry, hope, fear, etc when you read it, you do not want to pass this one up!

Scansguard Vampire's

Scanguards Vampire Series by Tina Folsom

I did not read all 6 of these in the past few weeks. I have previously read the first 4.
I did read Quinn’s Undying Rose and about 2 chapters in, realized I had not read Zane’s Redemption (though it has preordered it and it was on my Kindle). So, I read the last 2 our of order.
This is NOT in any way, shape, or form a series for young readers.
In fact, it’s Smut. But I am a huge fan of smut and an even bigger fan of Ms. Folsom.
I’m also addicted to paranormal/fantasy books, so you throw vampire’s, romance,  and sex into any book and I’m game.
This series follows the Scanguards Vampires.
Each book follows a different employee and they are quite simply scorching.
The next book in the series will be released around Early April and I am anxiously awaiting it!

I read a few more books, but they were just ok, so I won’t mention them.
These are books I enjoyed and I would recommend to other readers!

As always, if you take my suggestions and you read these books, let me know what you think!

Now it’s time to take my little red headed munchkin outside to get some Vitamin D from our reclusive as of late friend the Sun!

Leave a Reply

