Turkey and Cheese Birdnests

Every day with my kids I hear, “I’m hungry. But I don’t want…” (All day long!)
Yesterday was no exception.
So my mission was to whip up a good breakfast (though these could be use for tailgating, lunch, dinner, appetizers, party food, etc) with what I had on hand in the fridge.
My daughter and I took stock and saw what we had to work with.
Deli turkey, refrigerated croissants, shredded cheese, and honey mustard.

I thought, I can work with this.

Got out my muffin pans and some took down the Butter flavored cooking spray.

My daughter couldn’t wait to pull her stool over and put on her apron to help me cook.

Ingredients:
* 1 tube of refrigerated crescent rolls (any brand)
* 8-10 slices of deli sandwich meat. Sliced thin. (turkey, ham, roast beef, chicken. We used turkey)
* About 1 cup of shredded cheese (whatever you have on hand. We did cheddar)
* 2 TB honey mustard

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350.

Spray the pans generously with the cooking spray, then  press one crescent roll into a muffin cup with the ends hanging out. (Do this with all crescent rolls.)

Tear your sandwich meat or fold it and press it into the crescent roll “cup”.

Place a small dollop of honey mustard on top of the meat.

Top mustard with shredded cheese.

Fold edges over the top of your cheese. All 3 ends and press the edges together.

Spray the tops with more butter flavored cooking spray.

Bake for 10-14 minutes until tops are golden brown and the cheese is melted.

Allow to cool for a couple of minutes and then Enjoy.

***Makes 8 Birdnests.

(They are called Birdnests because that is what my 5 year old named them.)

Birdnests

If you use the recipe, let me know what you think!

Here’s to Chaos, because anything less is boring!

Leave a Reply

