Pumpkin Chili & Pumpkin Cornbread

It’s NOVEMBER 1st, y’all! 

That means it’s “officially” holiday season around my home. Though, the 86 degree temps haven’t received the memo. 

I am a huge fan of pumpkin, so I decided to try a new recipe today… Pumpkin Chili. 


I have never made it before and I can’t follow a recipe to save my life, so as per my norm, I used several recipes and kind of created my own. 

I used lean ground turkey, 3 types of beans, and of course pumpkin. But, pumpkin pie is sweet so I just had to add some sweetness to my recipe.

My house smelled amazing all day and my kids both ate 2 bowls. I think it’s a hit!

Ingredients: 

2lbs Lean Ground Turkey

1 medium onion, chopped small

2/ 15oz cans of seasoned black beans (I used Trappey’s)

1/ 15oz can seasoned kidney beans (I used Trappey’s)

1/ 15oz can seasoned Pinto beans (I used Trappey’s)

1- LARGE can of pumpkin (28 oz)

1- small can of diced tomatoes with mild green chilies (I used Rotel) 

3TB ChiliPowder

1.5TB Pumpkin Pie Spice

3/4 cup brown sugar

Salt to taste

Shredded cheese- optional

Sour Cream- optional 

Directions:

Brown your turkey and onion in a skillet until cooked through. (I sprinkled a dash of both chili powder AND pumpkin pie spice in the mixture to cook.)

Dump meat and onions into a large Crock Pot (or deep pot on the stove). 

Add all other ingredients (except cheese and sour cream) and stir well. 

Set Crock Pot on low and cook for 8 hours or High and cook for 3 hours OR set stove burner on low and cook all day. Stir regularly on the stove.

To serve, stir well and top with cheese and/or sour cream if you’d like!

ENJOY! 

I also made Mini Pumpkin Cornbread Muffins. 


Delicious!!

Ingredients: 

2- small  box Cornbread Mix (Jiffy is what we use)

1/ 15oz can of pumpkin 

1tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

3/4-1 cup water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375. 

Mix cornbread mix, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 cup water. Add more water if needed. You want the mixture incorporated, but not soupy. 

Spoon muffin mixture into lightly sprayed muffin tins or pan. Cook 16-25 minutes, depending on size of pans. 

Serve warm with butter or honey butter! 

So amazing! 

 

Leave a Reply

